wall displacement tutorial

Created a nice video, document or a translation of another document? Share it here for licensed users.
User avatar
vasco
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 115
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: Portugal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Excellent tutorial. Very clear. I now understand what I was doing wrong on a previous scene (no welding).
Thanks a lot.
MBP 2.16Ghz 3Gb | OSX 10.6.8 | Sketchup Pro 7.1.6859 | SU2TH 0.90.5
Render node: Watercooled Quad Q6600 o/c @ 3.285Ghz | 4Gb | 13662 CB

www
bagou01
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:29 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

for those wondering, displacement works only with UV mapping, even though the other modes (cubic etc) are available, they have no effect and are useless (until a later version).
just adding this because i spent half a day tring to figure out why displacement with cubic projection didn't work... so you don't lose your time too ;)
User avatar
Serhan
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 60
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2012 4:51 am
Location: Izmir (Smyrna)
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Thanks a lot. I was about to beat the hell out of my notebook a couple of weeks ago because of those cropped displaced edges of the walls :)
"All of our knowledge has its origins in our perceptions" Leonardo Da Vinci
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

One thing i think i do miss here. Are there any good SU plugins to get these sort loops in you mesh, because these are looking like quad based and sketchup is triangle based if im correct. Im getting pretty more the blender knowledge lately. But prefer base modelling in SU cause of the time. One thing is transfering them to blender makes the mesh really messy sometimes and i do need to redo all UVmapping
Burkhard
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 5:45 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=39442

Quadface by Thomthom

http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtop ... 23&t=35049

Quadrilateralizer by TIG

Maybe also take a look at UV Toolkit by Thomthom,ThruPaint by Fredo and UVTools/SketchUV by Whaat
Some are mentioned above
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10524
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

ThruPaint is very good
Split tools, the Splitdoughnut I use a lot
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Tried but couldn't get it to work. Kept saying something about 4 faces. I well check the documents for better understanding
duanekemp
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 834 times
Been thanked: 102 times
Contact:

For displacement, it turns out you need to have a grey-scale height map? So how are you supposed to displace the surfaces of an entire building made of stone from just a jpg texture? This is getting complicated quick. I thought there'd be more automation in this process. I know this post is old, but has there been any advancements to make this possible from a jpg image only?
SketchUp & Thea Render are my tools
What else is there to know? :-)

Thea Render Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/shadenlightusersgroup/

https://duanekemp.artstation.com/ - https://www.facebook.com/Kemp.Productions
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Displacements needs uv coordinates to work properly. So you need to assign uv's to your object. But some models are pretty easy, since a building is mostly cubic or rectangular. Adding a ie a brick texture easily gives it the needed coordinates. Than you need a displacement map, thea has some nice brick libraries for this.

I would recommend you to test these on a simple cube and see what happens. There are a couple posts, post 1 or post 2, here on the forum about using displacement correct. One other thing which is very important with displacement is that the model "needs" divided geometry. This is need for the "new" edges/faces which are calculated during displacement in rendering. Its sounds pretty techie all but dividing your model properly is essential.

Not all things are easy :) and yes displacement is also done by jpg or any file thea can work with.

Hope it helps
duanekemp
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 1289
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 6:12 pm
Location: Switzerland
Has thanked: 834 times
Been thanked: 102 times
Contact:

Thank you Rambout for the encouragement and links.
SketchUp & Thea Render are my tools
What else is there to know? :-)

Thea Render Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/groups/shadenlightusersgroup/

https://duanekemp.artstation.com/ - https://www.facebook.com/Kemp.Productions
Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials & Translations”