Combining Blender Animation with Sketchup in Studio

Created a nice video, document or a translation of another document? Share it here for licensed users.
DavePSB
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5

I've posted a video on YouTube that shows how to render an animation in Thea Studio that combines a base scene built in Sketchup with an animated (translating and mesh deforming) object created in Blender.

I'm not an expert with the Blender Plugin. A lot of this is the result of trial and error. If something is incorrect or should be added, let me know.

The video should be embedded at the end of this post, but if not, it is at

https://youtu.be/gm-F7xuJHoU

Here are the basic steps:

Short Version:

Assuming you are quite familiar with the SU and Blender plugins, the basic steps are:

Create a base scene in SU. Export to Thea. Tweak camera, lighting, etc. Save as .scn.thea.
Create and texture an animated object in Blender.
Under the Render tab, tick Thea Merge Scene. Select your base .scn.thea file and change Models to Name Collision - Replace
Under the Render tab, tick Thea Tools.
Select your animated object.
Under Thea Tools, click on Enable Animation Export and Enable Mesh Animation
Click Export Animation
Load the base .scn.thea file into Thea Studio
Open (name)_Camera.ipt.thea
Click OK
The animation renders.

Longer Version:

I recommend creating a unique project folder and keeping your SU, Blender, and Thea files there. You should also set your Blender output render directory to this project folder . A unique project folder is probably not really required, but I think it is much easier and, in my mind, eliminated a few pesky crashes that kept happening to me.

Create a base scene in Sketchup. In the example, this is composed of a floor with a box on it. This is the scene that the animated object will interact with.