[TIP] De-Noise Using Multiple Seed Values

Created a nice video, document or a translation of another document? Share it here for licensed users.
DavePSB
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5

I was experimenting with SSS and was looking for ways to improve render speed/quality. I ran across something interesting so thought I'd flag it here in case it has other applications. I know there are other denoising filters, software, and techniques, but this one seems to preserve detail and edges quite well.

I studied a particular scene and found that by rendering the scene 3 times, each for 2 minutes, but with a different seed value, and then combining the three renders (overlaying in postpro), the resulting image was much much better than rendering the scene for 6 minutes using a single seed value.

Here are the images:

The first one is the result from letting Presto MC go with default settings and Seed=1 for 2 minutes.
PrestoMC_2min_Seed1.png
I have two additional images, which I won't upload due to 3 image limit, that show the result of Seed=2 for 2 minutes and Seed=3 for 2 minutes. These images look virtually identical to the first image in terms of quality and graininess, but differ slightly on the pixel level due to the effect of the seed.

Here is the result of rendering with Seed=1 for 6 minutes. There is little improvement over the first image, which was rendered for 2 minutes.
PrestoMC_6min_Seed1.png
And here is the result of overlaying the three 2 minute images (Seed=1, Seed=2, Seed=3) using overlay weights of 100%, 50%, and 33% respectively. These weights are important and are a function of how many images are being overlayed. The weights might also be called opacity depending on the postpro app. No other adjustments were made regarding image brightness etc.
PrestoMC_2min_100Seed1_50Seed2_33Seed3.png
Well, I thought it was interesting!
Win 10
i7-9700K,3.6GHz,32Gb,
RTX2060Super, 8Gb, 442.19
SUMake2015 (15.3.331)
TheaForSU (1.5.09.547.1462)