Noisy Images - multiple light sources.

Ask a question about usage of application or give us your feedback regarding new features and bug issues.

Moderator: Tomasz

Satchem
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5

Hi Guys,

I work as a designer and engineer and I use Thea to render designs of events and installations I make for clients. Some of the renders I produce are embarrassingly noisy and I've tried many ways to make this better, with still limited luck.

Attached are two images that show the kind of thing I'm attempting to do.

The first is a tunnel that came out quite nice and crisp: 600+ light sources.

The second is a sample scene for a bigger project, the renders for which never became sharp and always had a terrible noise to them.

Any pointers or ideas on where I'm going wrong or how I can improve this? Open to any suggestions.

Thanks
SAMSUNG TUNNEL-Scene 3.jpg
NATURESCAPE V5-Scene 5.jpg
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester

In the second image it seems the soft radius of your light is intersecting other geometry. Soft radius defines something like the size of the lightbulb and though you don't see it, it shouldn't intersect other geometry. That noise is the typical effect that happens when it does intersect.
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
Satchem
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5

Thanks,

that helped me a lot at first, but since then I have tried to avoid any interaction there. But I still get the noise.

Sometimes the gap between the emitter and another surface may only be a few millimetres, but it is a gap all the same.

Any other ideas on this? I may be making another simple mistake somewhere.
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester

Do you have your lights inside glass? If so, that might be an issue too, especially if that glass is based on a glossy material as it emits caustics (not so much on thin glass).