Still no official anmd simple answer......

Ask a question about usage of application or give us your feedback regarding new features and bug issues.

Moderator: Tomasz

All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Can somebody please clarify whether or not Presto AO should display the "illumination" from lights on objects like walls etc.

Below is a prime example of what I mean, the same scene rendered using Presto MC has all the glow from ul;ighting etc. The AO version doesn't display any all that happens is emitters or lit themselves.

The uplighting in this case is a surface hidden behind the lit and painted with an emitter. The ceiling lighting tubes don't produce any lighting glow on surroundings either in AO, they just appear as lit objects in a dark frame.


Same wit hall lights, if I put a spotlight pointing at a wall it will render in MC but not in AO, is this a fault, is there a work around or a limitation of AO engine?!?!
Attachments
Rosewood 2 Cabaret-360 MC Presto.png
Rosewood 2 Cabaret-360 AO Presto.png
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5311
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 118 times
Contact:

I can see the spotlights in AO but I can also see that your Ambient Occlusion settings are greying out everything and fadiing out the spot light on the walls. Tinker with AO values for a fast render with a more natural and less greyed out look.
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Can you suggest which ones would best improve this scene? I can't "cheat" and remove walls to let in light etc as the final renders will be spherical.
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

…...anyone?

This is why I'm thinking about going to Vray as at least it has support / solid community making helpful guides. All I need to do is make some interiors in Presto AO that have decent quality lighting and show up artificial lights but I've been asking for weeks and still have no solid answer. I email thea and still nothing.
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
User avatar
mrwip
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 860
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 8:12 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 142 times

Hi All seeing one,

Thea AO is rendering all lights in the same way than MC, so you should be seeing your emitters. What are your AO parameters ?

Try with a tracing depth of 6, a diffuse of 1, extended tracing on, and AO ,distance 3, intensity 1.
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Hi Guys, rant over but I'm getting sooooo fed up with the lights. I don't expect to be great at it overnight but I do expect features to do something if selected otherwise how do you learn?
I've attached a latest image and I thank the previous post about AO as the scene isn't too bad generally now considering its only 300 passes but I still am not seeing those emitters to any real degree. the up lighting by the way is a thea emitter 150w fluorescent one but set to 500w and 50% efficiency. Do I have to set it at some stupidly high level to see it?

Oh by the way, I'm not using any external lighting at this stage. The project includes theatre seating layout of 300 chrome legged chairs so when I do that at 8000x4000 and 1000 passes my poor titan is going to sweat bullets hence trying to get render time vs results balance right.

If I can just get lights showing the above would do.

I'll take some more screen grabs and up load shortly.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Here we go... lots of attachments.
First ones are my rendering settings etc.
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture2.JPG
Capture3.JPG
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

And these are the light I have in the scene:

So the ceiling lights are 4x tubes with emitter material applied and an ies light below.
Up lighting is a continuous "face" painted with an emitter.
Attachments
Capture4.JPG
Capture5.JPG
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
User avatar
jc4d
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 1211
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Tornio, Finland
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 6 times

For a test try to crank the emitter values really high only to see if the emitters are doing something in AO mode, something like 100000 watts and 100 efficacy. Could be that the AO is more powerful than the emitters and that is the reason for not seeing the light from the emitters.
All Seeing One
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 10:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 0

Yes I was just about to try that as the above settings are getting close and I can see faint glow on the uplighter,
Attachments
Capture6.JPG
RYZEN 3950X, X570, 64GB DDR3200, RTX3090
Post Reply

Return to “Support & Feedback (SketchUp)”