[RV202.1115] Thea for SketchUp

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: Tomasz

Post Reply
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9061
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

Dear Friends,

Now it is your time to see how your machine handles the new Interactive Render Overlay in SketchUp.

The Interactive Region Rendering will help you work on a particular detail in your SketchUp model. This doesn't require that much power and works well even with CPU only. One can mark the region with TheaTool active when shift key is being pressed.

As you most probably have seen in the Trailer, SU model is updated interactively in Rendering Window or directly in your SketchUp view. You can modify objects, lights and materials. All those changes will be reflected in the IR.

All this combined with recent Presto speed improvements gives you an opportunity to see rendering inside SketchUp from a new perspective.

This version comes also with bugfixes:
- Image export works back again
- mod.thea saving in Thea Browser saves associated SU textures now
- [Mac] TheaTool doesn't crash when last model is closed
- [Mac] TheaTool doesn't crash when there is no material in a model
- [Mac] IBL names are displayed correctly now

Known issues:
- [Mac] There is a conflict with 'Vray for SketchUp' installation. We didn't want to see this as stumbling block before providing the update. If you experience a crash after installing Thea4SU, remove Vray installation temporarily, please.

Happy rendering inside SketchUp!

Download page
User avatar
Rosco
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 520
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 7:33 pm
Location: A Coruña (Spain)

Great! Thank you.
Just installed it. I'm currently using 2014, but I've tried with 2013 and with the overlay with blending option is the same as the overlay.
Overlay with blending seems right in 2014, and looks great!.
EDIT: Got it working, I had openGL hadrware acceleration disabled :shh:
Last edited by Rosco on Wed Jun 25, 2014 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
ltchesty
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:04 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Gadzooks ! By ging-gang-gooly -- this is awesome sauce indeed ! great stuff. very clever indeed. frikkin brilliant. I need to get a better laptop so i can use this when working away from my office.
The overlay blending is not working for me (AO Presto) - but i dont care right now as im so awed by this.
No - i was wrong - the overlay IS working - it was just so subtle that i missed it. Wunderbar !
How do i do the region render ?
Win10. Thea 2.2.974.1868. Nvidia 445.87
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5263
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Contact:

Tomasz wrote:Dear Friends,

Now it is your time to see how your machine handles the new Interactive Render Overlay in SketchUp.

The Interactive Region Rendering will help you work on a particular detail in your SketchUp model. This doesn't require that much power and works well even with CPU only.
Sweet my laptop might even be able to stay around some more time... I think it will burn eventually some time soon!

I'm hoping this region render would be enough for .mod.thea making. This would accelerate proxy workflow so much and, now even more, with the texture bugfix!

Thanks!

João
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
Mistro
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: NYC

I updated to version 1115. I'm feeling kinda dumb as I do not see anything different. How do I activate the interactive overlay and regional modes as seen in the video? :mrgreen:
i7-8700k @3.7GHz, 32Gb RAM, EVGA NVidia GTX 980Ti 6Gb, 1T M.2 SSD, Windows 10 64bit

Structural Integrity is Not Physical...It's in the Design and Purpose
User avatar
christrapeze
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 424
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 6:52 am
Location: Hurjaruuth dance theater at The Pannhaulli at Kaapelitehdas Helsinki

any ir preset in su for thea and the hilightes areas are for su window or overlay
Attachments
OVERLAY.JPG
i7 990x hex core overclocked 4.3Ghz 24Gb ram
2 X GTX 770 2 Gb, fractal design 1000w 80+ platinum
i5 3.2Ghz 8Gb ram GTX480 1.5 Gb

ASUS ROG G752, GTX 980m 4GB, 16gb ram
sketchup 2016 pro, 3ds max 2014, zbrush 4.6
User avatar
Mistro
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:56 pm
Location: NYC

Thanks christrapeze!
I got it now. This is awesome!
i7-8700k @3.7GHz, 32Gb RAM, EVGA NVidia GTX 980Ti 6Gb, 1T M.2 SSD, Windows 10 64bit

Structural Integrity is Not Physical...It's in the Design and Purpose
User avatar
ivan.dedos
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 316
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 9:36 pm
Location: Guatemala
Contact:

Esto es una belleza!
Image

Overlay test:
Image
• SketchUp 2019.1 • Spanish SketchUp Forumdedos.estudio • Windows 10 64bit • Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz • 32 GB RAM
man
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 505
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 3:06 pm

at lassttt :o :o :o :o

thanks thea team. :lol:

how do i select the region render?

got it PRESS SHIFT AND LEFT MOUSE CLICK the part you want :thumbup:
could we have an option to select the part we want first then press render?
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9061
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Contact:

man wrote:could we have an option to select the part we want first then press render?
Sounds reasonable :)
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (SketchUp)”