[BUG] Textures of inserted block instances not packaged

Ask a question about usage of application or give us your feedback regarding new features and bug issues.

Moderator: christos

Benjamin76
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:12 am
Location: South Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

I've been sharing with my students/friends some Rhino models of lights and interior components. I place texture maps for these models in the same folder. When these models are inserted to a scene as block instances, the scene can be rendered normally in Rhino without any issue of broken texture map links. But when one tried to export the scene as a pack.thea file, the texture maps for these inserted blocks are not packaged.

The problem is reported on multiple computers with Thea for Rhino 1.5.09.330.1462.
My Thea for Rhino blog with tutorials and downloads: https://archvisfangxu.wordpress.com/
My Real-Time Architectural Design in Unreal Engine blog with videos and downloads: https://designcommunicationfx.com/
Benjamin76
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:12 am
Location: South Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Any response for this issue?
My Thea for Rhino blog with tutorials and downloads: https://archvisfangxu.wordpress.com/
My Real-Time Architectural Design in Unreal Engine blog with videos and downloads: https://designcommunicationfx.com/
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

What happens when you export them to studio?

I see something with blender4thea sort a like. When i export the scene to Studio. It opens directly in studio then, sometimes textures are not shown in studio, the links are there but the textures dont show. I need to save the scene and reopen it in studio and then all is fine again. Very weird behavior.
Benjamin76
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:12 am
Location: South Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Rombout wrote:What happens when you export them to studio?

I see something with blender4thea sort a like. When i export the scene to Studio. It opens directly in studio then, sometimes textures are not shown in studio, the links are there but the textures dont show. I need to save the scene and reopen it in studio and then all is fine again. Very weird behavior.
I got a warning message from Studio (at the lower right corner of screen) that some textures are missing.
My Thea for Rhino blog with tutorials and downloads: https://archvisfangxu.wordpress.com/
My Real-Time Architectural Design in Unreal Engine blog with videos and downloads: https://designcommunicationfx.com/
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Seems deeplinking isnt possible then, there is not a real term i guess. So when you relink it in studio does it work? Perhaps a wrong path or something, you could always check why the path is broken
Benjamin76
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:12 am
Location: South Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Rombout wrote:Seems deeplinking isnt possible then, there is not a real term i guess. So when you relink it in studio does it work? Perhaps a wrong path or something, you could always check why the path is broken
Sure it'll work when I relink those textures again. There is no way for me to figure out why links are broken. Links work fine in Rhino.
My Thea for Rhino blog with tutorials and downloads: https://archvisfangxu.wordpress.com/
My Real-Time Architectural Design in Unreal Engine blog with videos and downloads: https://designcommunicationfx.com/
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

PS can you pack a file directly from Rhino? Workaround now move to studio and relink the texture. But if you can check what kind of path this missing link gets. You can make a more detailed bug post about it ;)
Benjamin76
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 2:12 am
Location: South Dakota, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

I'd like to take the chance to clarify the problem in a different and maybe better way. I think this is a rather annoying problem as I have tons of Rhino scenes with ad-hoc textures placed in the same folders. I hope there will be fix soon, please.

Below are the steps I followed and the problem I spotted:

1. Copy a Rhino scene along with supporting textures that are saved in the same folder to a different path on computer.

2. Open the copied Rhino scene and run a test rendering. The scene can be rendered with Thea for Rhino normally without any warnings of missing textures. The resource manager shows the filenames of the textures used in the scene, but there is no path information (I believe this is just because the scene was relocated from where it was built)

3. Export the scene to Thea Studio as a Thea Scene or Thea Model, and save the export file in a path other than the scene file.

4. Open the exported Thea Model or Scene. Thea Studio would immediately report that all textures are missing.
Texture Availability in Rhino.jpg
Missing Texture in Thea Studio.jpg
Missing Texture in Thea Studio.jpg (26.93 KiB) Viewed 580 times
I am sharing the Rhino scene I've been testing with:
Scene Export Problem.zip
(613.96 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
My Thea for Rhino blog with tutorials and downloads: https://archvisfangxu.wordpress.com/
My Real-Time Architectural Design in Unreal Engine blog with videos and downloads: https://designcommunicationfx.com/
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Not sure why there has been so much time in between post and the problem earlier. But Thea uses relative paths, so copying a scene and then opening that scene could cause issues of the textures are not available
User avatar
Rombout
Posts: 15255
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 37 times
Been thanked: 324 times

Not sure why there has been so much time in between post and the problem earlier. But Thea uses relative paths, so copying a scene and then opening that scene could cause issues of the textures are not available
Post Reply

Return to “Support & Feedback (Rhino)”