Brick Walls Material Library

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: patricks

User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Dear friends,

our brick walls library is now available! A set of 9 high quality materials to dress your architectural brick walls, with high resolution professional texture maps, in 2 variations (bump and displacement). During installation, a new sub folder called "Brick Walls" is created under Materials data folder. A material name that starts with 2x2 means that the textures used have 2048 x 2048 resolution, 4x4 means 4096x4096 and so on.

The textures have been setup with Cubic mapping for easy assignment (drag & drop ready, no need to mess with scaling) - the only exception are the materials with displacement (UV mapping is required for them). Please, check this thread for a short tutorial on cubic mapping. The library can be installed and used only by licensed customers within Thea Render context [Copyright (C) - Solid Iris Technologies].

How to install the library
1. Go to our forum page that contains the library download links: http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... 111&t=7011
2. The above requires that you are a member of the licensed user club (if not, please send us an e-mail with your forum nickname along with your order id or reseller info).
3. Download the library somewhere on your hard disk (please, be patient, since these libraries are not small!)
4. You can launch Thea Studio and open the downloaded file (on Windows, you can more easily double click on the file from the explorer).
5. You have to agree on the license agreement before going on (which is the same updated licensed agreement as for Thea Render itself).
6. Then click on the check button and the necessary files will be copied to your Materials data folder (you can also change this default location).
7. Congratulations, now you have the library installed!

Important: library installation requires Thea revision 610 or above.

best wishes


You can see below how the pavement materials are rendered with our advanced material simulation scene.
BrickWallsAMS.jpg
BrickWallsAMS.jpg (811.84 KiB) Viewed 2219 times
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
imodel
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 500
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2009 6:37 pm

Awesome!
User avatar
Loki
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Asolo (TV) - Italy
Contact:

I have a problem on using this libraries.

I use Softimage and never had problems jet with texturing.
In this scene for example, I made a basic material with a couple of texture for the bricks. The texture in Thea appears perfectly identical to the one showed in Softimage. Here a screen capture:

Image

Then, I tried to change the material and use one of this library.
I applied the material in Softimage and worked with texture projections due to reach a good results in viewport.
But when I export the scene in Thea, the textures appears to be scaled down and changed also the orientation on some surfaces.

Image


I'm doing something wrong?
(Sorry for my bad english )

- Schritt um Schritt es geht kein Weg zurück -
User avatar
Loki
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Asolo (TV) - Italy
Contact:

And here another strange thing about Brick materials...

Trying to understand the problem, I made a simple scene using only Thea Primitives.
I applied the material to a cube and all seems to works properly.
But if I do a simple "refresh" in the Material Lab, the preview changes and the texture are displayed now vertically.

Image

I noticed also that Rotating parameter on the Texture Lab has no effects on previews and scene.

I'm a bit confused... :crazy:
(Sorry for my bad english )

- Schritt um Schritt es geht kein Weg zurück -
User avatar
patricks
Thea Technical Artist
Thea Technical Artist
Posts: 2375
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:51 pm
Location: Germany & Palma de Mallorca/Spain

please have a look at this post
http://www.thearender.com/forum/viewtop ... =61&t=7032

you probably have to change the projection to UV in the Texture coordinate panel.
also the "commit" command could help ....
(the brick materials are setup with cubic projection by default)

Greetings Patrick
" Poets say science takes away from the beauty of the stars - mere globs of gas atoms.
I too, can see the stars on a desert night, and feel them. But do I see less or more ? "

Richard P. Feynman
User avatar
Loki
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 8:30 pm
Location: Asolo (TV) - Italy
Contact:

Thanks Patricks

I read this topic and I also tried the Commit command without good results. But I forget tthe possibility to change the projections from Cubic to UV. It works perfectly!
The thing that confuses me was the changes that the coordinates has on the material preview and that I didn't expect.

There are some things on materials that I still understand. Sorry :oops:


Thanks again
(Sorry for my bad english )

- Schritt um Schritt es geht kein Weg zurück -
User avatar
giannis
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 7986
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:25 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Hi Loki

the only thing that I can say about this, is that in the internal build this whole issue has an improved solution. There is a special model flag that swaps y-z axis for cubic mapping. This makes everything right without commiting position or anything like it.

Best wishes
Science may limit knowledge but should never limit imagination - Bertrand Russell
User avatar
bozcukforum
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 3:38 pm
Location: İstanbul

Hi,
I have a problem with brick material.When I used a brick with displacement its not working i guess.when dimensions of texture was very small, displacement texture was huge.When change projection as Cubic,texture scale is ok but displacment is still same! I am tried both of thea studio and sketchup plugin too.Result is same...I have added screenshot btw

pls Help!

Image
User avatar
Frederik
Thea A Team
Thea A Team
Posts: 5580
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:24 pm
Location: Denmark

Difficult to say what you're doing wrong, without a small sample model, where the issue is present... :|

Have you made sure that the mesh is subdivided...?
If the mesh isn't subdivided, the displacement won't work...
Cheers
Kim Frederik

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success..."
-Malcolm X
User avatar
christina
admin
admin
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:17 pm
Location: Athens, Greece

Make sure that if you have scaled a texture, you have applied the same scaling to all textures of the material too (at all the layers). For example, if the diffuse channel texture is scaled to 2, make the displacement textures with the same scale.
Make a test of the material on a sphere (see at primitives models) to see if the problem is actually the material settings or a not subdivided geometry, as Frederik just mentioned.
Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land among the stars.
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Studio)”