Altair Inspire Render beta 3 now available

Everything related to Altair Inspire Render beta

Moderator: claudio

User avatar
Rombout
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 15251
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:07 pm

nigec wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:42 pm
I see our porn star has managed to create one
hahahahah EPIC :lolno:
User avatar
Rombout
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 15251
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 am

Preferences: renamed "Common" section to "Common Folders" [Rombout]
Nice edit, but isnt data folders more appropriate here. Data tells the user more about its kind.
Darkroom: Correct names for Caustics and Full.
Not sure why this says Darkroom, this is engine. I also want to point out again that fake caustics your using as a setting while basically switching to AMC and NOT using presto. This is misleading since its a completely different engine!
Camera f-number used as exposure f-number
Import from Thea render : ISO Adjustment in according to Shutter Speed and F-Number
Wrong exposure when reading thea scenes with F-Number different that 5.6
I dont get this description, i opened my test scene from Thea and i dont see anything happen to the exposure.

Also i wonder why the info as f-number and shutter speed are in the display.ini but we cant set it?! Another thing i see is that the ISO value is different than that from Irender?

Another thing i see is that the Depth of Field percentage in Irender says 10% but in the it says 0.901 when i open the scene?!?!

The EV information is not being stored in the display.ini file but perhaps you store that in a different method, i do see its being added somehow when you revert a render.

PS concerning that new material file. Does this also count for Thea4SU? Because that would mean a huge job for us all converting everything. Also it will completely rull out studio as we have now. It sort of does when make Thea4su v2 materials, but there is still backward compatibility. Why not use mat.thea for irender? That way we can keep everything as is or make it possible to read both. I see big issue coming in this part.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.09.04.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.09.04.png (52.77 KiB) Viewed 957 times
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.17.04.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.17.04.png (54.62 KiB) Viewed 957 times
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.17.00.png
Screen Shot 2019-06-27 at 20.17.00.png (52.35 KiB) Viewed 957 times
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:56 am

Rombout wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:03 pm
Okay thats sounds a bit to simple. How does Irender take care of links in materials? Thea uses absolute paths, which can be a hustle but also a savior. Moving items however is a hustle with that method. So does that mean Inspire use absolute paths, does sound like it.
We store internally in a way that if you move the Assets folder, we do not lose the connection.
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:46 pm

Rombout wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 am
Darkroom: Correct names for Caustics and Full.
Not sure why this says Darkroom, this is engine. I also want to point out again that fake caustics your using as a setting while basically switching to AMC and NOT using presto. This is misleading since its a completely different engine!
Don't worry about the engine. Just worry about what features are enabled.
Rombout wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 am
Another thing i see is that the Depth of Field percentage in Irender says 10% but in the it says 0.901 when i open the scene?!?!
It's just formatted in a different way but it's the same value internally.
In I-Render that value is the % of depth that is in focus (roughly, don't take it as precise mathematical value...)
The "focus point" is the "Target" point of the camera.
Rombout wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 am
PS concerning that new material file. Does this also count for Thea4SU? Because that would mean a huge job for us all converting everything. Also it will completely rull out studio as we have now. It sort of does when make Thea4su v2 materials, but there is still backward compatibility. Why not use mat.thea for irender? That way we can keep everything as is or make it possible to read both. I see big issue coming in this part.
In the future (hopefully near future) all plugins will switch to the new material format.

We chose to change the format in order to allow for more features without having to change the engine, for example:
  • Material properties are retained when switching between material types (Basic, Metal, Transparent, etc.)
  • New built-in materials, such as Metal flakes. More will come in the future.
  • Possibility to add features such as Dirt on top of the engine.
  • In general, a higher abstraction level from the low-level engine.
Thanks,
-Claudio
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5009
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Contact:

Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:03 pm

One thing good about the changing format will be the absence of the double dot in the extension name. That causes a lot of issues with sketchup and file saving. So why will mod files keep the mod.thea format?

One thing that I look forward if you will solve or not is the converting of our assets. Will we have an automated way of converting them to the new format?
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:21 pm

The .mod.thea is needed because it is handled more efficiently this way by the engine (smaller scene files)

There is already a (partially) automated import.
You can import any number of .mat.thea files in one step.
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5009
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Contact:

Fri Jun 28, 2019 2:48 pm

I'm not trying to get rid of the format, just the extension .mod.thea double dots.

If you're changing some of the file extension names, why won't you get rid of all file formats that have double dots in the extension names?
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
barnabythebear
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 5:30 pm
Location: Kettering, UK
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:19 pm

Still completely unusable :(
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5009
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Contact:

Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:03 pm

barnabythebear wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:19 pm
Still completely unusable :(
Could you be more specific?

I think it can have at least some uses. It has it's flaws but has potential too.
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 9748
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Fri Jun 28, 2019 8:14 pm

barnabythebear wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 7:19 pm
Still completely unusable :(
Tell them why you feel that way, it'll never get better if you don't :)

I'm 99% sure I'm not going to need Inspire Render but if me breaking stuff, whining and complaining makes it better software. I'm gonna annoy the hell out of Claudio if it's likely to make a difference, I believe it will :D
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
Most Recent Batch Creator
Post Reply