Altair Inspire Render beta 3 now available

Everything related to Altair Inspire Render beta

Moderator: claudio

claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:29 pm

JQL wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:37 pm
I think the question relates to the "merging" of thea libraries. We have extensive libraries already for Thea with models and materials. I have them organized in my hard drive with a method I use for T4SU. You now have these new assets that I might use. What I would like is for them to be installed, in the way I want, into my library. This would allow me to:
- Keep them in my D: Drive, freeing memory on the SSD;
- Keep them organized with my structure, instead of someone else's structure.
- Share them in the network for everyone working with Thea to access it.

This would be key to have them always updated if, with every install I would be able to update the assets in that custom location.

I love to have new assets and yours seem very good, however I rather not have them than destroying my organizational structure or if I'm going to spread library locations or duplicate assets.
There are different options and they depend on what format you have your libraries.
It would be important if you could share more details about how your libraries are organized.

To start I'll describe in detail the Assets folder format.

The new Assets folder contains (I'll only include primary folders):
  • Textures
  • Materials
  • Models
All three follow the same folder structure:

Code: Select all

<Author>/<Package>/<Category>/...
  • <Author> - This is a name describing who created the asset. There are two reserved names: "Altair" and "User".
    "Altair" means of course the author of the assets is Altair.
    "User" means it is the current user of the software.
    Other names may be created by third parties willing to provide (free or by selling them) their own assets.
    The idea is that it will be possible, by following some easy specifications, for a third party to provide updates that will be downloaded and installed automatically at program start (not yet fully implemented as of now).
  • Package - This a package, that is a collection of assets (textures, materials, models). This usually groups assets that are related to each other, or make up a "package", in fact.
    For example this could be "Metals" or "Jewelry metals", or "Bathroom tiles", etc.
    A user usually groups assets into a package as a major container.
    A third party put a number of assets into a "Package" as a unit to be sold and downloaded.
  • Category - This a subdivision of a Package.
    For example if the package is "Metals" possible categories are: "Polished", "Brushed", "Hammered", etc.
    NOTE that a Category is optional, an assets can be directly in the <Package> folder if it is general and doesn't need a category by itself.
Under the <Category> folder there can be other folders as well, their content is included, but the folder's names are not shown in the Texture/Material/Model browsers.

You can directly see this in action in the Texture/Material/Model browsers:
  • If you click on the <Author> on the left you'll see all the assets of that author, in every package and every category.
    The Packages are shown as "Titles" grouping the icons in the panel on the right.
  • If you click on the <Package> on the left you'll see all the assets of that package, including every category.
    The Categories are shown as "Titles" grouping the icons in the panel on the right.
  • If you click on the <Category> on the left you'll see all the assets of that category (subfolders included, if any).
This allows an easy access to different level of details, without having to go up and down levels and levels of folder and subfolders.

Models and Materials format

For the Materials, we are introducing a new material file format, .iStudioMat
With time, all the online databases and the other plugins will be upgraded to this new format.
For now, we have to endure a time frame where we have a mixed situation: Inspire Render/Studio using the new format, the plugins using the old format.
We can already import materials in the old format, we also support selecting a group of files and import them in one step. To do this create a package under the "User" author (right-click on "User" and select "Create Package"), then right-click on the Package and select "Import materials".
But we cannot use old materials directly (in the Assets folder). As said, this is a temporary situation... Soon every product will use the new materials.

For the Models there is still some WIP, but in general it will be possible to save models in .iStudioMod format AND .mod.thea for the use as proxy models.

This is the current situation, I'm interested in knowing more of your existing organization and see what we can do to ease the conversion.

Thanks,
-Claudio
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:32 pm

nigec wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 1:43 pm
How do we save a scene with all its assets? textures, ies files etc
I was given a irender file to see if it was crashing but there's no textures, ibl, ies files, I can't see a way to pack the assets to return my version of the file
Ooops..... I just found there is for Studio, but it's not there for Render...... :oops:
Apologies...

(Next beta)
youyou40
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Landes; France
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 4 times
Contact:

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:43 pm

claudio wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:54 am
youyou40 wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 10:00 am
Hello everyone

A little question that worked on me tonight, will it be necessary, to redo all the libraries, or a solution will be found as for the file C / data / thea.

:?:
Sorry, I haven't understood the question..... :?

JQL answered before me. :thumbup:

Like, for the sketchup plugin and Studio 1.5, all the textures, models etc etc folders ...
Are stored in this folder
And most importantly, you can put it on another hard drive.

An example of mine.
50.JPG
50.JPG (37.99 KiB) Viewed 855 times
at the end of several years, the files grow bigger. :lol:
https://www.vision-3d.fr/
https://www.facebook.com/Guillevic40

Sketchup 2017
Thea studio v1.5.09 1462

Windows 10, i7-490k, gtx 970 + gtx 1080
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:46 pm

youyou40 wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:43 pm
Like, for the sketchup plugin and Studio 1.5, all the textures, models etc etc folders ...
Are stored in this folder
And most importantly, you can put it on another hard drive.

An example of mine.

50.JPG

at the end of several years, the files grow bigger. :lol:
Oh, that.... just go in the Preferences, Common Folders and chose a folder of your choice for the Assets.
Then manually move the Assets from the original folder to the new one.

-Claudio
User avatar
JQL
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 5008
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 6:34 pm
Location: Lisboa
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 83 times
Contact:

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:59 pm

Here you have mine and it shows on Thea 4 SU Browser like this:
Capturar.JPG
I understand the Author>Package>Category system and how it might be convenient for you, however for us, workflow wise, it doesn't seem convenient.

Let's imagine I want to find a Concrete material:

Right now I go to my Thea materials folder, find the concrete library and simply cycle through the available thumbnails of concrete materials I have (the thumbnails are too small by the way, especially on high dpi monitors) and pick one. Done!

With your system I will have to search on the Altair concrete materials, then on My own concrete materials, and finally on each of the other author materials.

Imagine I have 40 different providers each with one or 2 concrete materials… How will I be able to pick the concrete I want? Instead of cycling through all concrete materials I have, I will have to go in and out of folders, and find convuluted ways of remembering what were my best options and will never be able to compare them directly… or am I seeing it wrong?
These users thanked the author JQL for the post:
youyou40 (Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:46 pm)
Rating: 4%
www.casca.pt
Visit us on facebook!

Win 10 64bit
Sketchup 2017 64bit
Intel i7 5820K 3.3Ghz 32Gb Ram
Nvidia Titan X 12Gb
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:35 pm

JQL wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:59 pm
Imagine I have 40 different providers each with one or 2 concrete materials… How will I be able to pick the concrete I want? Instead of cycling through all concrete materials I have, I will have to go in and out of folders, and find convuluted ways of remembering what were my best options and will never be able to compare them directly… or am I seeing it wrong?
I would just add a search box, where you type "concrete" and that filters the Authors/Packages/Categories and the icons on the right to only those containing that text.

Nothing prevents you from manually copying everything from any Author into "User" and organize it as you like (which is what you did in your structure).
You would lose the auto-update, but you don't have that right now, so it wouldn't be different from what you have.

The icon size can be set using this small tab at the bottom of the browsers:
.
Preview icon size.jpg
Preview icon size.jpg (31.95 KiB) Viewed 847 times
.
Moving the mouse over it, it opens and you can drag the slider.

-Claudio
These users thanked the author claudio for the post (total 2):
youyou40 (Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:45 pm) • JQL (Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:29 pm)
Rating: 8%
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 9733
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:42 pm

Would you rather us start a new topic? with the [BUG+ version] or [REQ] or [INFO] tags?
In the last beta I missed 3 pages probably down to time zones and it'll be easier to keep track
I see our porn star has managed to create one
These users thanked the author nigec for the post:
youyou40 (Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:45 pm)
Rating: 4%
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
Most Recent Batch Creator
claudio
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2013 9:18 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 50 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:52 pm

nigec wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:42 pm
Would you rather us start a new topic? with the [BUG+ version] or [REQ] or [INFO] tags?
In the last beta I missed 3 pages probably down to time zones and it'll be easier to keep track
I see our porn star has managed to create one
Ah! ...sorry for that post... It skipped me....

New topics: whatever makes you feel more comfortable...
These users thanked the author claudio for the post:
youyou40 (Thu Jun 27, 2019 5:01 pm)
Rating: 4%
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 9733
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 30 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Contact:

Thu Jun 27, 2019 4:59 pm

its how we usually do it, its easier to see if its already been looked at or doesn't get lost, we try to add [solved] as well :)
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
Most Recent Batch Creator
User avatar
Rombout
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 15241
Joined: Tue May 12, 2009 12:42 am
Location: Curacao, Netherland Antilles
Has thanked: 31 times
Been thanked: 271 times

Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:03 pm

claudio wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:46 pm
youyou40 wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:43 pm
Like, for the sketchup plugin and Studio 1.5, all the textures, models etc etc folders ...
Are stored in this folder
And most importantly, you can put it on another hard drive.

An example of mine.

50.JPG

at the end of several years, the files grow bigger. :lol:
Oh, that.... just go in the Preferences, Common Folders and chose a folder of your choice for the Assets.
Then manually move the Assets from the original folder to the new one.

-Claudio
Okay thats sounds a bit to simple. How does Irender take care of links in materials? Thea uses absolute paths, which can be a hustle but also a savior. Moving items however is a hustle with that method. So does that mean Inspire use absolute paths, does sound like it.
Post Reply