Download for Thea Studio 1.5 and Thea4SU

New to Thea? Feel free to ask anything here and we will help!
Michel Brandsma
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

I want to install my Thea Studio 1.5 and Thea4SU on my new PC. I tried to use the installation files from my old PC, but somehow they seem to be corrupted (especially the SU pluging). Does anyone know where I can download the installation files again (last time I used the bundled one). I found this site: https://www.thearender.com/downloads/version-1-5-links/ but there I'm asked for a password that I don't have. All I have are the license serials.
User avatar
george
Thea Render Team
Thea Render Team
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:25 am
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Hi Michel,
Please use the support page and submit a ticket.

Best,
George
Michel Brandsma
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Thank you George
Michel Brandsma
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Hi George, It partly worked. Thea sent me the installation files for TheaStudio v1.5 and Thea4SU. I've now re-installed the software. It's running fine apart from one issue: Thea can not find the Presto GPU compatible module. So right now I can only render on the CPU. I remember that back in 2014, when I purchased Thea, the same problem occurred. Back then is was a small file (I believe a .ddl) that was missing from the installer. Thea knew of this and offered the missing file as a separate download. All you had to do was download this tiny bit of software and add it manually to the installation files in the Presto folder on the C-drive. I want to try that solution again, but I can't find the missing .dll on the internet anymore. Do you have any suggestions? (my GPU is a brand new RTX 2080 Super with the latest driver updates). Thank you for your help. Best regards
Presto is missing.PNG
Presto is missing.PNG (15.09 KiB) Viewed 978 times
, Michel
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10520
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

Any graphics card produced after 2017 isn't going to work, and never will sadly, probably the last cards were 1080's that were supported

I have a GTX1650 and that doesn't work in V1.5, you would need to upgrade to V2.x to take advantage of newer hardware
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
youyou40
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 261
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 5:17 pm
Location: Landes; France
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 8 times
Contact:

Weird

I have a GTX 1080 which works great with the studio
https://www.vision-3d.fr/
https://www.facebook.com/Guillevic40

Sketchup 2018
Thea studio v1.5.09 1462
Thea pour SketchUp v2.2

Windows 10, i7-490k, gtx 970 + gtx 1080
User avatar
nigec
Thea Beta Tester
Thea Beta Tester
Posts: 10520
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:47 pm
Location: UK
Has thanked: 60 times
Been thanked: 52 times

its down to the architecture, 1080's are Pascal Micro-architecture cards are the last supported by V1.5 (and earlier cards ):
Nvidia TITAN Xp, Titan X,
GeForce GTX 1080 Ti, GTX 1080, GTX 1070 Ti, GTX 1070, GTX 1060,
GTX 1050 Ti, GTX 1050, GT 1030,
MX350, MX330, MX250, MX230, MX150, MX130, MX110

my GTX 1650 is Turing Micro-architecture which aren't supported:
NVIDIA TITAN RTX,
GeForce RTX 2080 Ti, RTX 2080 Super, RTX 2080, RTX 2070 Super, RTX 2070, RTX 2060 Super, RTX 2060,
GeForce GTX 1660 Ti, GTX 1660 Super, GTX 1660, GTX 1650 Super, GTX 1650, MX450

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
My Gallery
Michel Brandsma
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Thank you nigec and youyou40,

I guess I'm stuck to CPU rendering then.

Pitty, because the cuda capability in Thea Presto was the main reason I bought Thea in 2014. Upgrading to V2.X would be a solution, but I find that rather expensive.
User avatar
Tomasz
Thea Developer
Thea Developer
Posts: 9239
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 5:09 pm
Has thanked: 193 times
Been thanked: 107 times
Contact:

Michel Brandsma wrote: Sat Oct 03, 2020 10:31 am Upgrading to V2.X would be a solution, but I find that rather expensive.
I guess, if the price is to high then nothing can be done.

Please note though, that 2.2 is not only a support for never cards, but many more features both on engine and plugin side. I frankly speaking wouldn't like to go to 1.5 with the external material editor, no denoisers, no Presto advances, not to mention things that will come in 3.0.
Michel Brandsma
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:19 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Thank you Tomasz,

I'm sure that V2.2 has much more to offer then my old V1.5 version. But as far as I know, the V2.2 version is only offered with an annual license (€ 249,-). Is that correct, or are there other license possibilities?
Post Reply

Return to “Ask for Information”