Page 1 of 1

Instancing

Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 3:33 am
by marceltanure
fsqe.jpg
Ive try to instace some plants on those woody marquese but it appearead on the right side of the model marked in red circle
Whenever I try to make a instance, it all comes in messed up, with diferent location, and backwords
see exemple in the picture, Ive try to instace some plants on those woody marquese but it appearead on the right side of the model marked in red circle. Please some one have mercy and try to help me. Ive expend the money that i couldnt expend on this software, but its giving me a lot a bugs.

Re: Instancing

Posted: Thu May 31, 2018 6:42 am
by DavePSB
Where is the plant model from? Is it’s origin set correctly? And it’s scale? Try instancing a very simple object, like a cone, onto your canvas. Are you able to do it?

Re: Instancing

Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:38 am
by d4m4rk
Probably pivot point of instance component is way off the (X,Y) centre point of component. Remember that component'll be attached to the canvas by the pivot point - wrong pivot point positioning -> wrong/unexpected/random instancing - that's pretty much ABC of inctancing. Also in case of instancing in this situation, I'd keep "direction", "normal" & "scale" around 0-10 & play with "roll" & "min distance" to keep it nice & clean. But that's pretty much up to you ;)

Re: Instancing

Posted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:20 pm
by pedrinalex
Hi, before you try to place an instance, I recommend you open that instance alone, there you will see where the pivot is located.
Pivot-wrong.JPG
If you need to move it, click on the work area and press the "p" key, the pivot mark will appear and you can reposition it, press "p" again and it is ... but. you must save it again in the folder where it is located, so that it keeps the pivot in the place you defined.
Pivot-ok.JPG
Pivot-ok.JPG (45.63 KiB) Viewed 5768 times
regards

Pedro

Re: Instancing

Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2018 10:11 pm
by Rombout
You can also get the tools menu from the top toolbar, look for the second last icon "Viewport Preferences". You can click the pin button to make the toolbar stay visible.

A quick to center the pivot is, while in pivot mode (either press P or the button, the do right click on the model. Then you select Geometry > Center Pivot, now you can simply drag it down to ground level.

Re: Instancing

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 2:48 am
by marceltanure
Thank you very much Rombout!

Ive try the other options but didnt get it right, it seems that with the geometry menu and center pivot make it happen.

Re: Instancing

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 11:24 pm
by Rombout
marceltanure wrote:Thank you very much Rombout!

Ive try the other options but didnt get it right, it seems that with the geometry menu and center pivot make it happen.
You really need to use the other options as well. Because when the pivot is in the middle of the mesh, you'll still have issues with the instance not showing at the correct loaction. THe pivot needs to be at ground level and this can only be done in pivot mode. So when the group or model mesh is selected, either press P or use the pivot icon in the tools i showed.

Re: Instancing

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2020 6:44 pm
by dale
Thanks so much for the info in this post. Great knowledge to share.
Dale