Noise in Render

New to Thea? Feel free to ask anything here and we will help!

by MichaelSiggers » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:32 pm

Good Evening

I'm fairly new to Thea Render, and have Thea Render for Sketchup installed.

While I've had the software for a few months, I've only really just started using it. I'm reading everything online, and also experimenting with it as well. I'm using models that I have already created for various clients.

One thing that I'm struggling with is Noise. I've attached an image of an internal rendering, which has been running for nearly an hour, but still is very grainy.

Any help, thoughts etc, would be much appreciated.

Kind regards

Mike
Attachments
Thea Screengrab.jpeg
MichaelSiggers
Thea Licensed User
Thea Licensed User

by Frederik » Wed Sep 06, 2017 8:38 pm

Without the scene - or some more information - this can be caused by several different things - and a combination of them... :|

I.e. is the emitters (being it IES-, spot- or omni-lights) sharing mesh with the model...?
What is the lightning source in your scene...?
How is the scene setup...? (is it just lit by the sun and then you've boosted the ISO and/or the shutter speed)
Although the scene seem fairly simple, what materials are in use...? (it can be an incorrect material setting)

Although it's difficult to see from the image you've posted, I'd say that the noise in this scene is most likely caused by one or two incorrect setups - or perhaps even a combination of both... (This is purely best guess based on loooong time experience)
1.) You're only using he Sun to light up this scene...
This will mean that the engine will have a hard time soling the dark areas, leading to these noisy renders...
2.) You've placed an emitter source behind a glass material - or perhaps too close to a mesh...
This will mean that the engine will need to calculate a lot, resulting in a noisy output...
Cheers
Kim Frederik

"If you have no critics you'll likely have no success..."
-Malcolm X
Frederik