GTX 10xx series - Making it work with Thea for Cinema 4D

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: petros

User avatar
george
Thea Render Team
Thea Render Team
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:25 am
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 20 times

For binary compatibility reasons, Thea Studio, Thea for Cinema 4D and Cuda8 fix, should all use the same Thea Render revision.

Therefore, the best way to make Thea for Cinema 4D work with the Nvidia GTX 10xx series is by using the same revision for Thea Studio and Thea for Cinema 4D.
On top of that, you will also have to overwrite in both applications the presto-x64.cuda.dll (x64) or presto.cuda.dll (x32) with the special build supporting these cards.

So, for the current public release you should install:
All links have been taken from this thread.

Greetings,
George
User avatar
ee5150
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:42 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

I'm a new user and have 2x1080's. Is this still relevant that I have to use the older versions for Thea to work, or should I use the latest downloads available?
User avatar
petros
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2015 12:29 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Hello.

This is an old post referred to 271 revision of Thea For Cinema 4D.

Thank you.
Petros.
User avatar
george
Thea Render Team
Thea Render Team
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:25 am
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 20 times

In the latest public version of Thea for Cinema 4D, you GPUs will be automatically detected.

Greetings,
George
User avatar
ee5150
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:42 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

george wrote:In the latest public version of Thea for Cinema 4D, you GPUs will be automatically detected.

Greetings,
George
Thanks. So I don't need that extra CUDA installer referenced here?
User avatar
george
Thea Render Team
Thea Render Team
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:25 am
Has thanked: 105 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Exactly!
mostyle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

HI,

I running a AKITIO Node on my MAC PRO (6.1) ( macOS Sierra) with a GTX 1070 . While some CUDA/GPU ( Redshift/ Octane) renderers working fine with C4D r18 , THEA didn´t notice the eGPU. Is there some way , that THEA make use of it,too?

best
kay
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Hi Kay, which version of Thea for Cinema4D are you using. Just to point out that its not the hardware that is the definitive factor for device detection.

Your external GPU device is listed as a CUDA device and if it is available in CUDA 8 then it will be available also for Thea Render.

However as support for CUDA 8 is available in later versions of Thea for Cinema4D, please ensure that you have the latest release available. You can verify detection in Thea Studio also by opening the Device panel and select CUDA 8 in the drop down box, bottom left.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
mostyle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

HI Anthony,

thanx, It was my fault, I just installed the latest C4D-Bridge, but not the latest Standalone. Now it works fine =).

best
kay
mostyle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

ups, I was a bit to fast.... THEA (standalone) now noticed the GTX, but crashed, when I try to use it. I will try a bit more.

best
kay
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Cinema4D)”