GTX 10xx series - Making it work with Thea for Cinema 4D

Development versions, documentation, tutorials and application resources may be found here.

Moderator: petros

User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 23 times

you need to drop priority on the egpu to Lowest possible. Remember the external GPU talks on the host bus much slower than a regular PCI Express bus. Especially on the Mac this can cause a kernel panic.

So drop it to lowest possible priority please.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
mostyle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

HI ANthonx,

sorry, that didn´t helped. Testet with some scenes that running fine with just CPU. But instand crashes when I switch on GPU , too.

And there is another strange behavior , even the Device-Mamager shows the GPU now. The C4D Bridge , offers just CPU for rendering.

best
kay
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Kay both Studio and the plugin must be in the same RV release.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
mostyle
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 12:55 pm
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

yes, both are latest RV
User avatar
Anthony
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:33 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Replication is the only way to determine root cause here Kay. Unfortunately at the moment we do not support formally external GPU kits but I will place a note on our tracker to determine what can be done here.
“ No man ever made a great discovery without the exercise of the imagination. ”
— George Henry Lewes
Tombombl
Licensed User v1.5
Licensed User v1.5
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 11:38 am
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Hi Anthony,
do you have any new information in this case? I have the same problem with egup GTX 1080 and a Mac. In Cinema 4D the card does not show up. In Thea Studio it crashes often. Both are the latest releases.
Regards,
Thure
Post Reply

Return to “Versions & Resources (Cinema4D)”